USGS visual identity mark and link to main Web site at http://www.usgs.gov/

'Brown to Blue' Sediment, Nutrients, and Contaminants from a Small Fluvial System to the Nearshore Environment, Monterey Bay, California: Christopher H. Conaway
idth="250" valign="middle">

Project Title: “Brown to Blue” Sediment, Nutrients, and Contaminants from a Small Fluvial System to the Nearshore Environment, Monterey Bay, California
Mendenhall Fellow: Christopher H. Conaway, (831) 427-4738, cconaway@usgs.gov
Duty Station: Santa Cruz, CA
Start Date: October 1, 2008
Education: Ph.D. (Environmental Toxicology) University of California at Santa Cruz, 2005; M.S. (Geology) The Ohio State University, 1999
Research Advisors: Curt Storlazzi, (831) 427-4721, cstorlazzi@usgs.gov; Jonathan Warrick, (831) 427-4793, jwarrick@usgs.gov; Amy Draut, (831) 427-4733, adraut@usgs.gov; David Rubin, (831) 427-4736, drubin@usgs.gov


Project Description: Anthropogenic modification of riparian systems in the Central California region has had a profound effect on nearshore ecosystems, particularly through increased discharge of sediments and nutrients. The effects of these perturbations include harmful algal blooms and outbreaks of pathogens, impacting both coastal fisheries and beach use. Research will be focused on the San Lorenzo River, Santa Cruz, and in the nearshore region of Monterey Bay on the Central Coast region of California. Time series, event-based sampling of riverine suspended sediment and sediment deposited in the nearshore on sediment traps will be characterized using chemical, mineralogical and isotopic methods. The results of the proposed research will help evaluate biogeochemical aspects of sediment delivery to the shoreline and its dispersal in coastal ocean in an anthropogenically-impacted area. 


Go back to Previous Profile   Project Profiles   Next Profile Go forward to

URL: http://geology.usgs.gov/postdoc/profiles/conaway/index.html
Direct inquiries to Rama K. Kotra at rkotra@usgs.gov
Page Contact Information: Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellowship Program Web Team
Last modified: 16:08:27 Thu 13 Dec 2012