Formal metadata information and software > CSDGM 1994 (superseded)

Federal Geographic Data Committee

This document has been superseded. Everyone should refer instead to the Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata, officially known as FGDC-STD-001-1998, dated June 1998, at the web site of the Federal Geographic Data Committee.
Established by Office of Management and Budget Circular A 16, the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) promotes the coordinated development, use, sharing, and dissemination of geographic data.

The FGDC is composed of representatives from the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Housing and Urban Development, the Interior, State, and Transportation; the Environmental Protection Agency; the Federal Emergency Management Agency; the Library of Congress; the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; the National Archives and Records Administration; and the Tennessee Valley Authority. Additional Federal agencies participate on FGDC subcommittees and working groups. The Department of the Interior chairs the committee.

FGDC subcommittees work on issues related to data categories coordinated under the circular. Subcommittees establish and implement standards for data content, quality, and transfer; encourage the exchange of information and the transfer of data; and organize the collection of geographic data to reduce duplication of effort. Working groups are established for issues that transcend data categories.

For more information about the committee, or to be added to the committee' s newsletter mailing list, please contact:

	Federal Geographic Data Committee Secretariat
	c/o U.S. Geological Survey
	590 National Center
	Reston, Virginia 22092

	Telephone:  (703) 648-5514
	Facsimile:  (703) 648-5755
	Internet (electronic mail):

	Anonymous FTP:
USGS tools and info for formal metadata
This page is
Maintained by Peter Schweitzer
Last updated 20-Jul-1998